Tuesday, July 26, 2011

Thursday, July 21, 2011

What can €0,50 buy you?

A whole lot of nothing.  That's what.

  1. An hour of interenet in some places
  2. A postcard (or two and a half depending on where you are)
  3. A trip to the bathroom (occasionally two trips, aren't you spoiled?)

(For those who have never seen the euro written this "0,50" is 50 cents Euro or $0.75)

Tuesday, July 19, 2011

Couple #375839620248579302

So I was in San Francisco the other day and  I just couldn't believe how many couples there were!

Just kidding.

Why would I go to San Francisco?  Well lots of reasons, but why didn't I go, because its like a 12 hour flight...

Anyways, here is some evidence of how all the couples in Europe just can't get enough of that PDA action.  I wasn't even looking for this couple and the got in the way of my picture of the Golden Gate Bridge.  Ok, that's a lie too.  I purposely took a picture of them, but I wasn't looking for them!  And that's not the Golden Gate Bridge, but it looks just like it.  Oh and just in case you weren't confused enought, the Portuguese also stole the statue from Rio de Janeiro.  Or maybe it was the other way around?

Fun fact real quick: this bridge in this scandalous picture was designed by the same guy who designed the Eiffel Tower, Gustave Eiffel.  But now that I just read his wiki page, I think that was a lie...  I knew someone who designed a tower and a bridge had to be crazy...

Tuesday, July 12, 2011

I ate THAT?!


Yup, that is exactly what it looks like.  The French Specialty.  And, I ate it.  And guess what, I liked it.

I might eat it again.

Maybe.

Monday, July 11, 2011

I take the bus all over Paris

Yes, they are in the middle of the busiest street in Paris.

I am a Gargoyle, or praying mantis...


Train = Bus

Airplane = Bus

Bus = Bus

Somewhere between Granada and Paris, all modes of transportation are now called a bus.  This was not a conscious decision.

Sunday, July 10, 2011

San Fermin

Legal in Spain: Drinking and Sleeping in the streets,
Illigal in Spain: holding on to a bull's horns, walking around completely nude

Welcome to San Fermin.






Thursday, July 7, 2011

Good bye, Granada! I'll miss you!

This is my traveling buddy for the first half of the trip.


Six weeks sounds like a long time, but short at the same time.  And that's exactly what it is.  I'm off to suitcase for three weeks through Europe: France, England, Portugal and Italy.  I give you no promises on blogging, but I will try my best.

Tuesday, July 5, 2011

Gaudiville



I have a new favorite architect - not that I had one before.  His name is Gaudi.  His creations are amazing, from the inside and in only once city: Barcelona or as I like to call it, Gaudiville.  From the outside the buildings just look strange and almost ugly.





Monday, July 4, 2011

4th of July - Spanish Style




If I were at home today, this is what I'd be doing:

These pictures are from 2008.  Its kind of difficult to take a picture when you're in the middle of a water fight.




But, since I'm in Spain, I'm going olive oil tasting and eating Mediterranean cuisine tonight.

Happy 4th of July!!!

Saturday, July 2, 2011

Why are the bars and cafes still full?


If you haven't noticed by now that the world is in a huge economic crisis, then you either live in a cave or under a rock.  Spain was hit pretty hard.  They call it "La Crisis."

The unemployment rate here in Spain is the second worst in the European Union.  The unemployment rate for young people is first worst in the European Union at 40 some percent.

On top of that, a few weeks ago Spain exported a bunch of cucumbers to Germany.  Spain, Italy and Greece are the major exporters of vegitables and fruits in Europe.  After Germany started eating some of these cucumbers, people started dying from E. coli.  Germany publicly blamed Spain and soon everybody was refusing to buy and produce from Spain and they were dumping what was sent to their country.

 Spain started testing their cucumber and other produce.  There was nothing in them.  No E. coli to be found.  No other country in Europe had an outbreak of E. coli.  People who weren't eating cucumbers in Germany were dying from E. coli.

Spain is suing Germany for blaming them.  And this only added on to the crisis Spain is in.  They lost thousands upon thousands, if not millions of euros in this.

So, why are the bars and cafes still full of people if no one has any money according to the news?  Because its the Spanish way.

The Spanish people are a friendly, socializing sort of people.  They'll give you two kisses on the cheek when you first meet them, when you say good bye, when you meet them again (provided you have Spanish people to greet).  It is their custom to eat breakfast at a cafe with friends, every day.

Food in Spain is a huge deal.  Its why they siesta.  That break in the afternoon, its not for napping.  Its so families can reunite and have a nice long two hour lunch before returning to work.  Its like dinner for some families in the United States - those who actually eat it together.

I don't think, no matter how bad the situation ever gets here, that you'll ever see the Spanish stop socializing and having fun.

Friday, July 1, 2011

What America should have that Spain has


1. Siestas

2. Week long Festivals

3. The concept that life is to be enjoyed, always 

4. Ice cream shops every half block